Water Parameter Help Please

Everything you ever wanted to say about "Zebra luvin", but didn't because you thought everyone would take the mickey! Plus general topics for discussion including everything from what you feed them to your personal experiences.

GlockFu
Obsessed!!

Water Parameter Help Please

Post by GlockFu »

I just tested my water because I was considering doing an RO water change. I've never done this before but I want to trigger a second spawn (first spawn came from tap water, about 2 months ago). I'm pretty sure my female zebras are ready because it looks as though they are actually the ones trapping the male in his cave but I don't think the male is ready yet. The females have been spending a considerable amount of time in the males cave but still no action.

Here are my water parameters:
PH: 6.2
GH: 1
KH: 1

This is the first time I ever tested for GH and KH as I am just learning about these two elements. They all seem like they are pretty low.

My tap water's parameters are:
PH: 8
GH: 1
KH: 2

Should I be worried about my water parameters being so low? What will happen if I do an RO water change? Should I do an RO water change or should I just keep using tap water? I tested the parameters of the RO water and they seem to be almost the same as my fish tank water. Thanks for any advice you can give!
Tom2600
Obsessed!!

Post by Tom2600 »

Your water is VERY soft. In fact if your kh reading is correct you need to be buffering your water (increasing its hardness). When KH is below 4 the pH level can crash to VERY low levels wiping life in a tank.