The Fish Room (Sump Filters)

Pretty much explains itself really. If you have questions about tank set-ups, tank furniture, (caves etc) chuck them in here!

Rob
Hypan-guru!

The Fish Room (Sump Filters)

Post by Rob »

Hi Guys.

Well here is the basic idea of the fish room, all is built apart from the sump. I have yet to connect it together and fill it up to see if the pipework leaks!!!
Image Image

The tanks are 34"x15"x15", in total 300l of tank water.

The sump holds 60l (without media), and I have a 5000l/h submerged pond pump.

This will cycle each tank about 12 times an hour, with high flow rate.

As I have never built a sump before, what is the best media to use and in what order.

There will also be an timed actuated valve, that will allow approx, 15-20 l a day automatic water change from a 600ll settling tank in the roof 8)

Can anyone forsee any other problems?

Cheers everyone

rob[/url]
Dr. P
Mentally Certified!

Post by Dr. P »

Can't help but am totally intersted in seeing what other members say. I will be setting up a similar sump (in my soon to be fish room), but running one 180-200 gallon tank.
Sword Pies. As Good as it Gets - Guaranteed!! [img]http://www.refreshdesign.co.uk/dale/scotsmile2.gif[/img]
Rob
Hypan-guru!

Post by Rob »

180-200 gal....nice.....hope you live on teh ground floor!! :lol: :wink:
Dr. P
Mentally Certified!

Post by Dr. P »

I live on the top floor of a 15 story block.... will that be a problem??

Joking. I'm converting my garage which is completely concrete so weight issues wont be a problem. :lol:
Sword Pies. As Good as it Gets - Guaranteed!! [img]http://www.refreshdesign.co.uk/dale/scotsmile2.gif[/img]
Pete
Obsessed!!

Post by Pete »

I use floss for mechanical filtration and beneath that bioballs for biological filtration.

The floss I use is actually air conditioner filter material that you can buy out in the States for cheap$$, much cheaper than you'd pay for the same stuff at the LFS.