Catappa Leaves / Indian Almond Leaves

Everything you ever wanted to say about "Zebra luvin", but didn't because you thought everyone would take the mickey! Plus general topics for discussion including everything from what you feed them to your personal experiences.

Andrew C
Obsessed!!

Catappa Leaves / Indian Almond Leaves

Post by Andrew C »

I have been told Catappa Leaves / Indian Almond Leaves are good for lowering pH, plus they have more natural properties that are good for fish.
There are a few sellers also on Aquabid, and even a breeder i talked to, uses them.

Catappa Leaves On Ebay

Has anybody else used them before ?
McEve
Hypan-guru!

Post by McEve »

I haven't used them personally, but I know many fishkeepers in Norway use oak leaves for the same reason. They say it works good, and like the more natural way of lowering the PH.

But like I said, I have no personal experience with them, so I guess this is useless info after all :lol:
Andrew C
Obsessed!!

Post by Andrew C »

Its not useless information, at least i know that not just a few people use leaves for lowering pH.

Andrew.
Mindy
Mentally Certified!

Post by Mindy »

I have oak leaves in my dwarf apisto tank. Helps acidify the water and leaf litter looks very natural in the tank. I really like it.
Des
Mentally Certified!

Post by Des »

Hi AndrewC,

I have heard from LFS that some exporters use Almond leaves in the bags during transport, mainly for their anti bacterial/medicinal properties. This is the first time that I have heard that they are used to lower ph.
I dont think it is necessary to lower the ph artificially for zebras , as they are better in a stable environment, where the ph does not keep fluctuating.

Regards,
Des.
Andrew C
Obsessed!!

Post by Andrew C »

Des
I have been told, the leaves act in the same way as peat to reduce the PH & KH of the water.