Which one first ?

Everything you ever wanted to say about "Zebra luvin", but didn't because you thought everyone would take the mickey! Plus general topics for discussion including everything from what you feed them to your personal experiences.

rhino
Obsessed!!

Which one first ?

Post by rhino »

I have never tried breeding before and I am wanting to try. Can I start with the zebra plecos or should I try a different pleco? I really like the Gold nugget pleco but the size issue would be a problem.Avalibility is also a concern.If I can start with the zebra plecos then I can start setting up my tank appropriately.I just bought a Ehiem ecco 2236 for my 55 gallon aquarium.Is this a good choice?
Bobby
Jojoyojimbi
Obsessed!!

Post by Jojoyojimbi »

apparently all of the hypancistrus species are on par for difficulty according to people i've consulted, try any of them
dave
Obsessed!!

Hi

Post by dave »

Why not try L333, supposedly a bit easier, more young and you can sell them, use the proceeds to buy L46.

Also the L46's for sale these days tend to be juveniles, so a year or two to wait at least for breeding.

I am not so sure about the last post in this thread either, few members of this Genus have been bred in captivity, so I would hazard a guess that there are great differences in breeding. Whether it be PH, KH, GH, current, temperature etc.

So personally when attempting to breed Hypancistrus or any Plecos for the first time I would stick to species where the method is documented and can be followed.

On the other hand if the previous poster can provide evidence that they are all the same, great.

No offence meant here, but it seems a post is being made with no factual basis.

Dave
rhino
Obsessed!!

Post by rhino »

To be honest with you, I have my heart set on L46's.If I had wait to breed that would be fine.A question though,if I did get juvenile L46's,could I have them in with the L333"s while breeding?And if so,could you give some info. on breeding the L333"s?