At Last!

We all know how difficult it is to identify the sex of these fish, so please post a picture in here and we'll try to help you (or at least give an educated guess!).
Raul-7
Obsessed!!

At Last!

Post by Raul-7 »

Well sorry for the un-needed excitement in the title, but I just have to show-off the fact that I finally managed to secure a pair! :roll:

Anways, long story short. Here's the suspected pair, some of you may have seen them before. :wink: But I want the opinions of the majority.

Zebra #1 (suspected male)

Zebra #2 (suspected female - ignore the broken dorsel ray :oops: )

Side View

Behavior wise, the female likes to hang out under the shaded areas of the driftwood - while the male likes to hide inside a crevice inside the driftwood.
andrewcoxon
Mentally Certified!

Post by andrewcoxon »

beautiful looking fish raul!

im no expert but i think your right with your suspicions.

i recently bought a "pair" and they look very similar to these.

i.e the male has a massive big wide head and the female is altogether more delicate and a little smaller (is this usual?)

the male hangs around near a cave and occasionally tries to get in until my other big male stops him and the female hides in a crevace near a plant pot.... normally but today she is in the spare cave for the 1st time... is this unusual or does it point to her possible being male tooo...?? :?

im worried now. il lend my mates digital camera and post some piccies!
My Pleco's:
4 x L46
5 x L174
5 x L134
5 x L287
5 x L257
2 x L236
Plastic Mac
Mentally Certified!

Post by Plastic Mac »

I think you're probably right that the pics are of a male and female.
normally but today she is in the spare cave for the 1st time... is this unusual or does it point to her possible being male tooo...??