RO water and TDS help

Everything you ever wanted to say about "Zebra luvin", but didn't because you thought everyone would take the mickey! Plus general topics for discussion including everything from what you feed them to your personal experiences.

Frontyking
Obsessed!!

RO water and TDS help

Post by Frontyking »

Hello guys,

I'm picking up an RO unit next week that has a built in TDS adjustment with a digital display. With the RO unit comes a pocket TDS meter in order for me to be able to check the TDS range in my tanks.
Seeing as I've never used RO water before and am currently using dechlorinated tap water for my bi-weekly water changes, my question is what range should the TDS be set at for Zebras and is it safe for young fish IE 3.5cm which is what size mine are at now.
My understanding from the manufacturer that I'm buying the RO unit from (who has been breeding discus for over 20 years), is that using RO water for young zebras might kill them as it does young discus as they won't tolerate the low TDS. Can someone please verify this?
I've searched this and other forums on this topic high and low and have found varied opinions on what the TDS should be ranging from 20 TDS right up to 200 TDS and all have said their fish have bred which makes it very confusing and frustrating as I don't know which way to go.

BTW, water parameters in the zeb tank are:

Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 3 ppm
GH 6
KH 5
PH 7.8
Is the GH and KH suitable for Zebras? I know the ph can be lowered once RO water is used.

Thanks in advance,

Nick.
[url=http://www.aquarank.com/in.php?id=doctorze]Vote for zebrapleco.com here[/url]
Raul-7
Obsessed!!

Post by Raul-7 »