best way to lower the ph slightly?

Everything you ever wanted to say about "Zebra luvin", but didn't because you thought everyone would take the mickey! Plus general topics for discussion including everything from what you feed them to your personal experiences.

andrewcoxon
Mentally Certified!

best way to lower the ph slightly?

Post by andrewcoxon »

hi guys,

as some of you may know im new to zebras but iv set up a tank with an aim to breed them in the future (iv booked 4 of these little guys which i will be getting once my tank is all definatley sorted) anyway..... i keep african malawi's and i know that coral is used to buffer the ph of the water but after setting up my tank a week ago iv just tested the ph of the water and its at 7.3 with nothing in there apart from tap safe, so basically i need to lower it slightly to 6.3 ish... as this is what the zebs like. whats the best way to do this? also when i do water changes do i need to lower the ph of the new water i put in or will a small amount not make such a difference.

i heard that once i get mopani wood in there this will lower the ph but will it be enough?

thanks in advance for all your help guys. iv learnt so much allready from these forums so im sorry for asking all the questions!

all the best,

andy
Plastic Mac
Mentally Certified!

Post by Plastic Mac »

You really need to know your Gh and Kh as they will determine how easy or how hard it will be to alter the pH, as far as I know. If you have lots of dissolved solids within the water, and then try to alter the Ph you'll probably find the water will bounce straight back up a few days later.
You best bet would be to get an RO kit which would solve your problem straight away and now doubt be the cheapest option in the long run.
Some people use peat to lower the water which works pretty well as far as I know.