I just don't know what I am doing wrong! PLS Help

If it isn't to late, and you're desperately looking for some advice, hopefully someone can help you out.

fishingurbanontario

I just don't know what I am doing wrong! PLS Help

Post by fishingurbanontario »

Hello everyone. I am 23 years old and from Canada. I watched some exciting and interesting Youtube videos about Zebra L046 Plecos and January and next thing I knew I was going to give it a shot myself. Around the end of February I had my own tank with them going. I however like the title suggests don't really know what I am doing, I actually have no prior fish breeding experience and I need to ask some experts. I have probably watched and viewed every or almost every link or video on the Internet about these species and I am doing my best to follow it. I did my best to explain my anxieties clearly and briefly, please help me out as I am very new to everything and I do need the help.

Let me explain my setup with photos attached below so that perhaps you guys may see something I don't.

My Water Parameters usually stay at

Ph 6.6-7.2 Fluxuates cause I keep the KH low hoping they breed
KH 2
TDS 185-265
GH 1-4
Ammonia 0
nitrites 0
Nitrates 5-10 ppm (I use countryside aquatics resin and sweet potatoes to keep it down)
temperature is kept between 28-30C
A 60 gallon hang on back filter in the 20 gallon tank and two air stones to keep high oxygen.

So the thing that has always bugged me the most about my tank is that the fish 90% of the time don't look magazine front page worthy. The white usually has the same color as seen in the photos below and the blue is there but its not strikingly neon like you see on the internet. A friend of mine suggested that perhaps mine just have a little bit of less vibrant colors in their genes. I thought that could be true because I know when it comes to L236 they have a super white separately breed gene people pay extra for.