Euthanasia in fish.

If it's about fish in general, or it's a little bit random, then this is the place to post it.
Adam

Euthanasia in fish.

Post by Adam »

Some of you may be aware that I am currently battling the ravages of Neon Tetra Disease(NTD). Unfortunately one of the most effective methods of controlling NTD is the euthanasia of fish showing symptoms of the disease. I know it's a morbid subject, but what methods do people here employ? My personal choice is to put the affected fish in a pot of boiling water, for me this seems to be the quickest and most humane method.

Post by Guest »

Ouch! I don't know about you but I'd rather freeze to death than burn alive. Never had to euthanize any fish myself so I'm no expert but I wouldn't want to boil mine. NTD is noncom with cichlids, right? Sounds like some otherwise healthy feeders to me. Sorry for the callousness. I feel for you.
Adam

Post by Adam »

Hi guest,

Surely the fish would suffocate long before it froze to death, either way the onset of death is prolonged. I'm not an advocate of feeders, the risk of disease far outweighs the benefits.

Just my thoughts.
Matrix99

Post by Matrix99 »

I cut head :x and flush !
I really don't like to do this.
Tristan
Obsessed!!

Post by Tristan »

I have, in the distant past cut the heads off fish, swift, clean and effective, but please, don't chuck them down the loo as heaven knows what is being passed into our already failing watersystem. Sorry to rant but...
L046, L033, L117, L200, L027, L014, Discus, & malawis
Rob
Hypan-guru!

Post by Rob »

This is definately one of "those" subjects. I have only had to euthanise a couple of fish in my time, and I've got to say I felt guilty for days. Not to mention the golden apple sanil athat fell out of its shell and started to decompose. I couldn't think of a humane way to put it out of it's misery, so I wrapped it in a poly bag, ran outside, placed it unde the wheel of my car and reversed!!!!