M or F????

We all know how difficult it is to identify the sex of these fish, so please post a picture in here and we'll try to help you (or at least give an educated guess!).
wu19
Groupie

M or F????

Post by wu19 »

photo (5).JPG
Right
Right
Left
Left
Im doing some cleaning and decided to try to find out? Is there a female or 2 in the mix? I have 7 but trying to get that male out his cave is too much of a hassle. I let him be.
Blackcat
Forum Follower

Re: M or F????

Post by Blackcat »

Hi Wu,

IMO they are too young to sex at present.
I would be confident that there would be a least one female in the group as time progresses. As it appears you bought them rather young. The likelyhood they are all male is unlikely.

Thanks,
wu19
Groupie

Post by wu19 »

Thank you blackcat. I will continue to fatten them up
Blackcat
Forum Follower

Post by Blackcat »

I'm no expert but I can see the biggest (the one in the middle of two) is probably a male; due to the V shape and the broad head.

The other to young to tell. Maybe the other is hard to tell, because of the angle.

IMO I still think this is the most informative and practical way if identifying male or female:

http://www.aquaticquotient.com/forum/sh ... bra-Plecos

Hope it helps.
FrankJScott
Mentally Certified!

Cool Heating Blog

Post by FrankJScott »