RO-system

If you don't mind sharing them in order to keep these little critters breeding in captivity, chuck your hints and tips this way!

Post Reply
Sinew
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: Umeå, Sweden

RO-system

Post by Sinew » Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:04 pm

I would like to buy a good and cheap RO-system for breeding L-numbers.

Anyone can give me some tips where to find one?

Thanks in advance,
Jonas
Where there is a will there is a way.

Mindy
Mentally Certified!
Posts: 446
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 1:51 pm
Location: Bristol UK

Post by Mindy » Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:15 pm

I bought mine off Ebay. It's a top unit and it didn't cost the earth...

smithrc
Moderator
Posts: 863
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:57 pm
Location: Milton Keynes - UK
Contact:

Post by smithrc » Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:58 pm

www.RO-Man.co.uk

good prices but I've never used them.
Click For Our Plecs
[url=http://www.smithrc.f2s.com/gallery/plecs][img]http://www.smithrc.f2s.com/assorted/PlecSig_sm.jpg[/img][/url]

Shell231
Mentally Certified!
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 11:49 am
Location: St Leonards on sea E Sussex

Post by Shell231 » Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:25 pm

If an RO unit was placed on the floor would it pump up into a container? say about 3ft upwards effectively?

Adam
Moderator
Posts: 1604
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 2:50 pm
Location: London, UK

Post by Adam » Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:52 pm

Sinew, ebay would be a good place to start as Mindy has suggested. You can find some great bargains there, but check to see how long and often the unit has been used as it may need replacement cartridges/membrane in which case it may not be such a good deal.

Smithrc has provided a link for a very good site that have new RO units at excellent prices, parts of my own unit were bought from them.

You might want to check out shipping charges before purchasing from the UK as you may find that any savings will be swallowed up by shipping charges.

I'm pretty sure that we have one or two Swedish members that could point you in the right direction. With any luck they will spot this post and help you out.

Shell, an RO unit relies on tap pressure in oder to produce filtered water. There shouldn't be a problem with it "pumping" to a height of 3 foot and over.

Adam
Last edited by Adam on Fri Aug 05, 2005 3:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Sinew
Newbie
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: Umeå, Sweden

Post by Sinew » Wed Aug 03, 2005 4:17 pm

Thanks guys!

Im going to check this up. But it's difficult to know what you are looking after when you almost dont know what a RO-system really is. :D
Where there is a will there is a way.

smithrc
Moderator
Posts: 863
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2005 3:57 pm
Location: Milton Keynes - UK
Contact:

Post by smithrc » Wed Aug 03, 2005 4:26 pm

a cheap 3stage will do you nicly - RO-man does the basic kit for £70.

http://www.ro-man.com/shop/product_info ... ucts_id=30
Click For Our Plecs
[url=http://www.smithrc.f2s.com/gallery/plecs][img]http://www.smithrc.f2s.com/assorted/PlecSig_sm.jpg[/img][/url]

Post Reply