New to Zebras

Pretty much explains itself really. If you have questions about tank set-ups, tank furniture, (caves etc) chuck them in here!

QueenDustBunny
Forum Follower

New to Zebras

Post by QueenDustBunny »

I'm new to this and my son (4yo) really has to have one. He saw one in the not-so LFS and declared that he had to have one. I currently have 1 rainbow shark, 4 long-fin rosie barbs, 3 polkadot botias and 3 bala sharks: all are still rather small. In a 55g tank (will be upgraded for christmas). There are 3 large plants and 1 small plant. 3 "animal" bubblers (I know, his idea), a large artificial driftwood piece and 2 caves. I plan to add at least 1 more small cave for the ZP at the same time (hopefully so he could claim it).

Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions? My not-so LFS has ordered one for me and will hopefully be here soon. I will be sure to post pictures as soon as I get him/her. I am really more excited about this now than my little guy is. I wish I had a dedicated tank just for them, with a few dither fish for upper activity
Alistair
Obsessed!!

Post by Alistair »

Welcome to the forum, I hope you find it as useful as I have.

Firstly zebs require a higher temp than most other tropical fish, this along with the strong fitration and flow rate that is required to keep them comfortable, means that there are few suitable companions for these fish.

Secondly, as they are quite shy and retiring they can easily be bullied off food by more boisterous fish and go short on food. Before you collect your fish from your LFS, consider what you can do for the community fish you have at the moment, I would look at putting them in a separate tank and building up a stock of these fish, there are a few threads on here that discus companions for zebs if you want to have some other fish in the tank.