Filtration required for 300 litre tank?

Pretty much explains itself really. If you have questions about tank set-ups, tank furniture, (caves etc) chuck them in here!

astronotus
Forum Follower

Filtration required for 300 litre tank?

Post by astronotus »

Hi all,

It's my first time post but have read every single post on the forum, so hopefully I won't be asking any questions that have already been answered!

I have 6 young zebras (approx 12 month old) on order. I have a cycled Juwel Rio 300 setup and will be putting just the zebs and maybe a handful of cardinals in the tank.

At the moment it has the internal juwel filter with a 1000lph powerhead plus an Eheim 2329 wet dry thermofilter at 550lph stated throughput (the builtin heater is run alongside the internal Juwel one for redundancy).

I run an online aquatics shop so have access to the full Eheim range cheap and was interested in opinions as to what, if any, additional filtration I should add in a money no object situation. The 2329 is great at biofiltration and adds well oxygenated water BUT as it's a "breathing filter" it doesn't have a constant flow (they output for a minute then stop for a minute) plus it does not perform mechanical/chemical filtration at all.

I was thinking, in order to increase flow rate and provide mechanical/chemical filtration, of adding an Eheim Ecco. My reasoning is that they are easy to open/prime so I could stuff it with floss to polish the water which I could swap out regularly without having to mess about too much. Alternatively I could add any other Eheim external, aquaball, or powerhead including Eheim hobby pumps.

Sorry it's such a long post just wanted to give enough details for people to be able to give an opinion.

Thanks in advance for any comments. Will probably post pics of my setup later in the week for comments.
zebra_man
Groupie

Post by zebra_man »