Larger tanks and company

Everything you ever wanted to say about "Zebra luvin", but didn't because you thought everyone would take the mickey! Plus general topics for discussion including everything from what you feed them to your personal experiences.

kattbussen

Larger tanks and company

Post by kattbussen »

Hello everybody!

At the moment I have a 180l juwel tank that contains 6 juvenile zebras and a few marbled hatchet fish. Everything is working alright and I have been keeping the zebras for roughly two years now, they are growing but very slowly.
I am a bit unhappy with the setup, I mostly keep the lights off to keep algae from growing to much and I clean food from the bottom daily. I feed quite a lot so that I am sure the zebras are finding food. In the end, it is a lot of maintenance and a sort of boring tank - its dark, and when the lights are on the zebras hide and the hatchet fish can barely be seen because of the frame of the aquarium. The tank also seems to be quite small, I always like to give my fish a lot of space.

This has led me to thinking about getting a bigger tank. I am thinking that a bigger tank lets me do the cleaning only once a week, get more tankmates to make the aquarium seem more alive and I also have a faint hope that other (small and friendly) fish might signal to the zebras that it is ok to show themselves.
The tank I am planning is a 900l that measures 2m * 0.6m(height) * 0.75m. The plan is also to use a dimmer connected to the light to simulate sunrise and sunset, and most importantly to get a more "gloomy" feel by not using maximum power on the light. This will hopefully get the zebras to feel more comfortable and let me see them come out at "dawn".