hi im new all info and help needed thanks

Hmmm...what else can I say!
craigzeb
Obsessed!!

hi im new all info and help needed thanks

Post by craigzeb »

hi all im new to the zebra world i am looking at getting some adult zebras after buying 4 small zebras and loosing them all as they passed away was gutted and not happy at all costly and upsetting loss. i was wondering what is the size of tank needed for these fish and what is the smallest tank they can be kept in ?? how many filters are needed are airstones needed ?? and what water perameters they can servive in. i put the 4 babies in my tank i had while i was getting a new tank sorted out for the babies but none made it ?? all perameters were clear nitrates were 12mg/l and ph was around 7. im on the lookout for a breeding pair young adults if poss i love these fish and want to carry on the breeding too of these wonderfull zebs

thanks

craig
Last edited by craigzeb on Fri Jan 07, 2011 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Stevie.K
Mentally Certified!

Re: hi im new all info and help needed thanks

Post by Stevie.K »

Hi Craig & welcome to the site.
It all depends how many you are looking @ buying what size they are ie fry or adults, I keep mine in as small as 60l for a few adults or more fry & as big as 600l.
125l-150 l is a good size imo, but it all depends on your space @ home.
Bigger tanks will be easier to keep better water as you have more water volume to prevent as much pollution, smaller tanks would require more frequent water changes.
I run 2 filters in mine just to have maximum filtration & in case one should fail, but this is just my personal taste & I also keep the tank well aerated with air stones & aquaballs.
Water params, Zebs will leave & breed in all kinds of water so they don't really have any specific needs.
Others may give you a few pointers, welcome :D
craigzeb
Obsessed!!

Post by craigzeb »