Greetings From Torrance

Hmmm...what else can I say!
andrewtbarbara

Greetings From Torrance

Post by andrewtbarbara »

My name is Andy, and I feel so blessed to find this site. I stumbled across the Zebra's today, and instantly fell in love. I finally after years of wanting, talked my wife into getting a tank for the house about 6 months. It is populated mostly with Goldfish. After seeing a Zebra today though, I really would like to give a go at breeding them. As I said I am a newbie, and would love any and all advice that anyone would love to offer. My fish store is selling them for a good chunk of money which I am fine with, but from what I've heard, there is no guarantee they will spawn?

Sorry, back to me, I am thirty years old, live in Torrance California with my four year old son, and wife of three years. In April I joined the ten percent of unemployed workers in Ca. I am currently playing Mr. Mom which I thouroughly enjoy. I worked 3 jobs while she was pregnant until my son was three so she could stay home. As I left for work at 6am, and returned at 11.30pm Monday-Saturday, I missed a lot of his young life. Now I get to make up for lost time, and hang out with my best friend.

I'm very interested in breeding for a new hobby, and would love any help. If anyone has some they would like to sell, I am extremely interested. Any advice and help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!!
TwoTankAmin

Re: Greetings From Torrance

Post by TwoTankAmin »

Hi Andy and welcome to the site. It is very easy to get bitten by the zebra bug, however they are not the ideal first tropical fish. I would strongly suggest you get some experience with plecos and how they spawn etc. by starting with something much easier and way less expensive- bristlenose plecos. Working with them will give you time to learn about plecos and their spawning habits plus any mistakes or problems will not end up costing you $100s.