Micro filter

Anything from making a cave, to building a fishroom, this is the place to post.
Jamie24
Obsessed!!

Micro filter

Post by Jamie24 »

Today brought one of these:

A Penn-Plax Small World Filter

Cut it up a bit and removed the carbon and zeolite chamber to be left with just the sponge filter section. did a cut and shut job on the filter holder unit, fitted it all together and adapted the air system with some right angled junctions and a bit more air line hosing and bingo.

A super mini filter, perfect for my fry trap, creates a nice flow plus filters the water in the fry trap, along with the oxygen induction to airate it.

approx 4cm wide x 5cm high x 3cm deep.

Cheers, J 8)
andrewcoxon
Mentally Certified!

Post by andrewcoxon »

nice one!
My Pleco's:
4 x L46
5 x L174
5 x L134
5 x L287
5 x L257
2 x L236
will74
Groupie

fry trap

Post by will74 »

What exactly is a fry trap and how does it work? I'M new to this and have 6 zebras in a 40 breeder. I am in the process of buying slate and cutting it on a tile saw so I can silicone it together.
NetsuaiAngel
Obsessed!!

Post by NetsuaiAngel »

Hi will74!

A fry trap is a container that is either floating or attached inside your tank which becomes a temporary home to fry. There are some premade that you can buy and they are made of clear plastic like the one Jamie24 shows in the photos. The other type of fry trap is made of white mesh. I believe there isn't much of a difference between the two, although I think the clear plastic ones are the more popular kind because you can see right through them and I hear the mesh ones are hard to see through to observe the growth of the fry - also I've heard of fry becoming stuck between the mesh and the plastic frame...I think the mesh kind are really best for livebearers as their fry are much larger and less likely to get themselves stuck.