Filters for bare bottom tanks

Anything from making a cave, to building a fishroom, this is the place to post.
Fishnut2
Groupie

Filters for bare bottom tanks

Post by Fishnut2 »

I saw that there were no posts in this section...so I thought I'd give it a shot. These are my home made filters for bare bottom tanks. They are mechanical and biological filtration, and cost about $3 to make. The filter media (not shown) is red flint gravel...which is used by Shedd Aquarium here in Chicago, as well as the city of Milwaukee, Wisconsin - for thier drinking water. The filters are called pot filters, and are made of a round undergravel (made by Lee's)/ a pot (I use old margerine containers or a plastic milk jug cut down to size)/ and red flint gravel for the filter media. I've had a few of these filters the entire 37 years I've been keeping fish. Although I'm new to keeping plecos (except for bristlenose), I've had 24 zebra spawns in the last 12 months! I've also bred close to 100 species of cories...using these filters.
The pics show aerobic growth on the filter plate, and the pot itself. In a few tanks, I even have the same aerobic growth on the glass. My friends at Planet Catfish IDed the particular type of aerobic growth for me...but I'd have to look it up.
http://fishnut2.com/coppermine/albums/u ... 060003.JPG
http://fishnut2.com/coppermine/albums/u ... 110069.JPG
If you have any questions...ask away! I'm a breeder, not a scientist. So anticipate common sense answers.
jerms55555
Obsessed!!

Post by jerms55555 »

Thats great!!! Do you happen to have any pics of the filter in use??? I am setting up a BB tank and this would be great to use!!! So basically the filer plate is attached to the pot and the gravel goes inside??? Do you use a pump to drive the water through???

Post by Guest »

Hi Jerms55555,