Digital SLR advice

You can post piccies of your fishies here!
Linzi Zeb
Groupie

Digital SLR advice

Post by Linzi Zeb »

Hi everyone,

I have been taking some pics of my zebs and other fish with a panasonic lumix TZ5 compact camera but I am hoping to branch out and buy a digital SLR. (The lack of manual focus is killing me!)

I've been thinking of a Canon EOS 1000D which I believe is the newer version of the 400D and I was just hoping for some advice/suggestions...

What are the most important qualities in a digital SLR for fish photography and does anyone have any suggestions in terms of makes/models of cameras?

Thanks in advance for any help, I'm new to this manual photography lark and I'm looking forward to combining hobbies.

Thanks,

Linzi :)
Toon Toon, Black and White Zebras!
vanillarum
Obsessed!!

Post by vanillarum »

Well, I can tell you the # 1 thing I look for is how the camera feels in my hand. I have small hands for a guy, so I didn't want a big, honkin' camera. The second thing I found, and this was pointed out to me by some photography friends, was quite often you can get great deals on cameras other than canon and nikon. I'm not sayin there is anything wrong with either one of these, but all you ever see advertised are these 2. I tried, and fell in love with an Olympus E 510, and the first thing that caught my eye was the smaller size. And then the smaller (by a lot) price tag. It has all the bells and whistles of canon (which I also own), and nikon, but for less $. Good luck.
The line of least resistance makes crooked rivers and crooked men !

William H. Danforth
GrubbyGirl
Groupie

Post by GrubbyGirl »

Canon and Nikon are clearly the market leaders without doubt and are predominantly what the professionals use. I personally started with Canon and have stuck with them. One of the reasons is that both canon and nikon ensure all their lenses fit all past and future cameras so when you want to upgrade you only ever have to upgrade the body.