I found one

We all know how difficult it is to identify the sex of these fish, so please post a picture in here and we'll try to help you (or at least give an educated guess!).
McEve
Hypan-guru!

I found one

Post by McEve »

At an exorbiant price, but I managed to haggle it down a bit.... I just hope I managed to pick a female? What do you think? *crossing my fingers*

Ed_R
Obsessed!!

Post by Ed_R »

I am no expert, not at all, I am sure I can't tell a male from a female, but aren't the leading edges of the pectorals supposed to be thicker and 'spikier' on a male than on the female? The bottom pic shows a nice thick leading edge with spikes, though I have definitely seen spik,ier ones in pics on other sites.
McEve
Hypan-guru!

Post by McEve »

BTW, the fish is 7 cm long, I just measured it :)

You're right Ed_R, the fish does have odontodal growth on the leading ray, but I have another female with more than this one has, and the male has so much of it that it looks like a black shadow along the fin. Not all males have so much of it though...
Ed_R
Obsessed!!

Post by Ed_R »

Like I said, I'm definitely no expert.
McEve
Hypan-guru!

Post by McEve »

I didn't mean to dismiss your opinion Ed_R! I'm just over anxious... :lol:

I'm sorry... I'll be quiet now and let you guys give your opinions :)
Ed_R
Obsessed!!

Post by Ed_R »

NO, no! I'm not qualified to GIVE an opnion, honest!, so I couldn't tell the difference if I l had to!
Barbie

Post by Barbie »

I definitely would call that a female. Congratulations! Now hopefully she thinks she is too ;)

Barbie
[url=http://www.plecos.com][img]http://plecos.com/plecosbanner.gif[/img][/url]
McEve
Hypan-guru!

Post by McEve »