Tetra Bactozyme = Smelly Water, Any Experiences?

If it's about fish in general, or it's a little bit random, then this is the place to post it.
andrewcoxon
Mentally Certified!

Tetra Bactozyme = Smelly Water, Any Experiences?

Post by andrewcoxon »

hi guys,

yesterday i set up a new tank and added Tetra Bactozyme (which speeds up bateria develovement...apparently) and it turned the water really cloudy. however it said on the packet that this would happen.... but this morning when i woke up the water was still cloudy and i noticed it really smelled, the smell reminded me of when i was a kid and used to keep tadpoles in a jar, after a few days the water would really start to smell and it smelled just like that. has anyone ever used this product (this is my first time) and is the smell normal.

thanks.

andy
My Pleco's:
4 x L46
5 x L174
5 x L134
5 x L287
5 x L257
2 x L236
Plastic Mac
Mentally Certified!

Post by Plastic Mac »

This what the tetra website had to say about it:
It stimulates the decomposition of uneaten fish food using naturally occurring enzymes, and it creates ideal conditions for the rapid development of filter bacteria.
I've never used the stuff myself but anything which tried to stimulate the decomposition of uneaten fish food would probably smell imo. I would also imagine it contains ammonia which definitly has a distinct smell to it. I wouldn't worry about it though, if it still smells in a week then you might have a problem but at the moment I'd reckon it's perfectly normal.
andrewcoxon
Mentally Certified!

Post by andrewcoxon »

thanks mac. :)
My Pleco's:
4 x L46
5 x L174
5 x L134
5 x L287
5 x L257
2 x L236
Andyt.
Groupie

Post by Andyt. »